Batemans Bay High School

Learning Leads To Empowerment

Telephone02 4478 3600

HSC Minimum Standards

Students need reading, writing and numeracy for everyday life after school.

This is why students in NSW are being supported to meet a minimum standard of literacy and numeracy to receive the HSC from 2020.

To show they meet the HSC minimum standard, students need to achieve Level 3 or 4 in short online reading, writing and numeracy tests of skills for everyday life.

Students do not need to sit the reading, writing or numeracy test(s) if they achieved Band 8 or above in the respective 2017 Year 9 NAPLAN test(s).

The following document has been produced by the NSW Education Standards Authority (NESA) to provide information about this new initiative.

HSC Minimum Standards factsheet

The full NESA site for information about minimum standards is here. You will also see links to other information about the HSC.